2017 Mr. Basketball:  De’vondre Perry, Polytechnic


The Temple University bound Perry was a unanimous choice for this year’s MBCA Mr. Basketball award after a dominant season which capped a stellar high school career.  He averaged a double-double for the Engineers in 2016-17 while leading them to the 3A state title.  Perry scored over 1000 points during his career and mastered the books as a senior earning a 4.0 GPA.   


3A/4A Classification


First Team:  Keve Aluma, Stephen Decatur – Sr.

      Darron Barnes, Wise – Sr.

                Laquill Hardnett, Perry Hall – Jr.

                          Brandon Simpson, Seneca Valley – Sr.

              Michael Speight, Wise – Sr.        


Aluma was the Bayside Player of the Year and has committed to Wofford University.  Barnes and Speight served as a serious 1-2 punch for Wise and have combined for 16 D-1 scholarship offers thus far.  Hardnett shared Baltimore County POY honors with frontcourt mate and second teamer Higgs while leading Perry Hall to 26 wins and a 4A state title.  Simpson piloted the Screamin’ Eagles to back to back state tournament appearances.


                                                     Second Team:   Quinton Drayton, Bowie – Sr.

                                          Johnny Fierstein, Quince Orchard – Sr.

                             Anthony Higgs, Perry Hall – Jr.

                                   Demetrius Mims, Polytechnic – Jr.

                                  Daniel Oladapo, Bladensburg – Jr.


    Third Team:      Shiloh Beale Jr., St. Charles – Sr.

                             Myles Douglass, Aberdeen – Sr.

                         Jalen Gibbs, North Point – Sr.

                      Trea Keys, Wilde Lake – So.

                  Obe Noel, Tuscarora – Sr.


Honorable Mention: Bryan Boehlert, Magruder; Jaden Faulkner, Eleanor Roosevelt; Travis Henson, Potomac; Matt Kelly, Quince Orchard; Cory Schlee, Oakdale


1A/2A Classification


             First Team:    Manny Camper, Kent County – Sr.

                                            Darius Dangerfield, Harford Tech – Sr.

                     Trent Dixon, Central – Sr.

                            Marvin Price, Patterson – So.

                        Zach Tucker, Century – Sr.


Camper and Tucker were named ‘Player of the Year’ in Kent and Carroll counties respectively.  Camper has verbally committed to Siena.  Dangerfield became the most prolific scorer in Harford County history notching 1,774 career points.  Dixon led the Falcons in scoring and has been selected to play in the Capitol Classic.  Price is only a sophomore but averaged 22.7 ppg during Patterson’s climb to the 2A state championship.  He has offers from Virginia Tech and Kansas State midway through his high school career.



                 Second Team:   Zion Cousins, Frederick Douglass – Sr.

                                Justin Faison, Gwynn Park – Sr.

                                Curtis Holland III, Southern – Jr.

                                                    Darrin Lucas-White, Fairmont Heights – Sr.

                              Andre Rafus, Lake Clifton – Sr.


                     Third Team:   Kimani Benjamin, Fairmont Heights – Jr.

                                Rasheed Brown, Lake Clifton – Jr.

                                 Frankye Duckett, Edmondson – Sr.

                                Montrell Horsey, Joppatowne – Jr.

                          Gerard Mungo, Patterson – So.


Honorable Mention: Donald Carey, Frederick Douglass; Evan Joseph, Middletown; Nashon Kane, Largo; Jeff Simmons, Westlake; Kenneth Sumpter, Havre De Grace